What is taking so long?

 

 

*slurred*

Hush… Give it timmmme…

*a beat*

There. …You see?

*a laugh*

Course you do. You always see… That’s what I like about you. …You know? Always…there…with the answer…

…Is it there yet? …Trust me; you’ll know. Mmmmmm, will you know… Just…like…that…

*a beat; a sigh*

I love this song… It always plays for me… Plays for me when I’m alone…

…You hear it? …Good. …It shouldn’t be playing. Run along, little song, run along… I’m not alone today… Today somebody takes the trip with me…

…Shhhh… I think I see it… Always a little place in the distance…

…Are you there yet?

No, no. This is the place where we can stay…

Stay…stay…where the music likes to play… But no, no more music today…

Today, we are the music… We get to play…

*a laugh*

That’s just like it to be jealous.

…It should be jealous… We get this place to ourselves…

*sing-song*

AllTo… Ourselves

I like our selves.

*a laugh*

Yours most of all…

…Did you know that?

…How couldn’t you know that…

*a sigh*

Why aren’t you here yet. …Why am I still ahead of you. …What is taking this so long…

—Mary “Magdalene”